Where To Find Newspaper Articles…
*All relevant links and descriptions are to be found under the ‘ONLINE RESOURCES’ tab on our website under the category ‘NEWSPAPERS’. Direct link - https://hicksvillelibrary.org/index.php/databases?field_databasecategory_target_id=12&field_database_departmnent_target_id=18 *
HISTORICAL - These tend to be full-page scanned images of the actual newspapers with text search capabilities.
Local Hicksville Newspapers - Full image scans from the Mid-Island Herald, Hicksville Illustrated, Mid-Island Times, and more are available on the Hicksville Archives website under the ‘Historical Newspapers’ tab - http://history.hicksvillelibrary.org/.
NYS Historic Newspapers - For historical local newspapers statewide, broken down by county. We have been submitting the Hicksville papers here as well - https://nyshistoricnewspapers.org/
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1963 - https://bklyn.newspapers.com/paper/the-brooklyn-daily-eagle/1890/
Newsday 1940-1994 - Full image scans and text from the inception of Newsday on from ProQuest. Using this database remotely requires a valid Hicksville library card. http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewsday/barcode?accountid=47405&groupid=39345
The New York Times 1851-2019 - Full image scans and text from the nineteenth century up through the recent past available through ProQuest. Using this database remotely requires a valid Hicksville Library card. http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/barcode?accountid=47405&groupid=39345
CONTEMPORARY - These tend to be full-text transcriptions of individual newspaper articles rather than full page scans. Images, advertisements, etc. from the actual newspaper are usually not included. In most cases articles are available up to the current day.
Gale OneFile News - Full text access to over 2,000 regional, national, and major international newspapers as well as transcripts of radio and television broadcasts. Provided through NovelNY. A valid Hicksville card is required. https://link.gale.com/apps/STND?u=hilopacplus
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream - Local, regional, and national U.S. publications with full text access as well as archives going back to 1980 of many major publications. Includes the L.A. Times, New York Times, Newsday (1985 - Present), and The Wall Street Journal. Cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases (such as the historical newspapers). *This is where you want to go for CURRENT NEWSDAY articles* Remote access requires a Hicksville library card.
http://search.proquest.com/usnews/barcode?accountid=47405&groupid=39345
Note - there is some crossover between Gale OneFile News and ProQuest U.S. Newsstream. Patrons or librarians may need to try both databases if looking for something a bit more obscure. In general, ProQuest has more local and regional domestic newspapers including Newsday and has exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and L.A. Times.
Access Restrictions - ProQuest databases have links for in-house library use that have been fixed to stop asking for a library card barcode when used on site. For off-site/remote use, Gale and ProQuest require the patron’s library card barcode. The Hicksville archives page and its contents do not require a library card, nor does the Brooklyn Eagle archive from the Brooklyn Public Library’s website.